Dear Future Walkers,

Yesterday, while organizing my office desk at the house, I listened to an Art of Manliness podcast entitled “The Value of Deep Work in the Age of Distraction”

http://app.stitcher.com/splayer/f/33053/42040126

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 8.20.04 AM.png

As I’ve began preparing my plan-of-attack for this semester’s load of courses, I’ve noticed that I’ve really had a difficult time concentrating and staying focused on one subject as I study. It feels like everything that is demanding my time is trying to take the center stage of my my mind, all at once, reminding me how much each course I’m taking is demanding much of my time.

As I thought about and prayed about how I could somehow rid the distractions of my life and begin practicing the art of ‘Deep Work’, I knelt in prayer to inquire how I was going to do everything I’ve signed up for.

As I prayed last night, I felt the need to dedicate a fast to this very thing- the ability to clear my mind and be able to focus on the concentration-needing task at hand.

I chose to fast today- something I haven’t done on a weekday for quite a long time. It reminded me of my time in the mission field, where fasting was anything but a rare occurrence.

Fasting is an incredible thing. I was able to concentrate and do ‘deep work’ multiple times throughout the day.

I worked three shifts at the computer labs this evening, and was quite drained by the time that Katie and Cooper came to visit me and bring me dinner at the UR lab. It felt great to tell Katie of my successful fast. I felt more in-tune with the spirit and the many stresses of life were weakened by the ironic feeling of physical weakness from going without food or drink.

I’m thankful for fasting, and know it works, Kids.

